Cheri Bustos (US Representative, IL, Democrat)

You already voted!

Cheryl Lea Bustos (/ˈbuːstoʊs/; née Callahan, October 17, 1961) is an American journalist, healthcare executive and politician serving as the U.S. Representative for Illinois’s 17th congressional district since 2013. A member of the Democratic Party, she is the first woman elected to Congress from her district, located in the northwestern part of the state, anchored by the Illinois side of the Quad Cities and partially including Peoria and Rockford.[1] In 2019, Bustos assumed a leadership position among House Democrats as Chair of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee (DCCC).[2]

Previously elected to the East Moline City Council in 2007, she defeated Republican incumbent Bobby Schilling in the 2012 election and a subsequent 2014 rematch.[3] Assigned to the House Committee on Agriculture and Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, Bustos and Senator Dick Durbin are the only Democrats in the congressional delegation from Illinois who are not from the Chicago area as of the 2020 elections.


More Posts

John F. Kennedy

John Fitzgerald Kennedy (May 29, 1917 – November 22, 1963), often referred to by his initials JFK, was an American politician who served as the

Lyndon B. Johnson

Lyndon Baines Johnson (/ˈlɪndən ˈbeɪnz/; August 27, 1908 – January 22, 1973), often referred to by his initials LBJ, was an American politician who served

Richard Nixon

Richard Milhous Nixon (January 9, 1913 – April 22, 1994) was the 37th president of the United States, serving from 1969 until 1974. A member

Gerald Ford

Gerald Rudolph Ford Jr. (born Leslie Lynch King Jr.; July 14, 1913 – December 26, 2006) was an American politician who served as the 38th