Daniel Webster (US Representative, FL, Republican)

You already voted!

Daniel Alan Webster (born April 27, 1949) is an American politician serving as the U.S. Representative for Florida’s 11th congressional district since 2017. A member of the Republican Party, he first entered Congress in 2011. He previously represented Florida’s 10th congressional district from 2011 to 2017 (numbered as the 8th district during his first term). Prior to his congressional service, he served 28 years in the Florida Legislature.

After receiving his engineering degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology, he worked in the family air conditioning and heating business that he now owns and operates. He has been a resident of Florida since the age of seven and resides in Winter Garden. First elected to the Florida House of Representatives in 1980 and Florida Senate in 1998, Webster is the longest-serving legislator in the history of the state.[1] He rose to become Speaker of the Florida House of Representatives (1996–1998) and Florida Senate Majority Leader (2006–2008); he left the legislature after reaching the legal term limits. He ran unopposed in all of his elections for the state legislature except for the first three: 1980, 1982 and 1984.[2]

Webster was first elected to the United States House of Representatives in 2010. He has since run three times for Speaker of the House: in January 2015, he received 12 votes; in October 2015, he received 9 votes; in 2017, he received 1 vote. In the 115th United States Congress, Webster sat on the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, the Natural Resources Committee and the Science, Space and Technology Committee.


More Posts

John F. Kennedy

John Fitzgerald Kennedy (May 29, 1917 – November 22, 1963), often referred to by his initials JFK, was an American politician who served as the

Lyndon B. Johnson

Lyndon Baines Johnson (/ˈlɪndən ˈbeɪnz/; August 27, 1908 – January 22, 1973), often referred to by his initials LBJ, was an American politician who served

Richard Nixon

Richard Milhous Nixon (January 9, 1913 – April 22, 1994) was the 37th president of the United States, serving from 1969 until 1974. A member

Gerald Ford

Gerald Rudolph Ford Jr. (born Leslie Lynch King Jr.; July 14, 1913 – December 26, 2006) was an American politician who served as the 38th