David Schweikert (US Representative, AZ, Republican)

You already voted!

David S. Schweikert (/ˈʃwaɪkərt/; born March 3, 1962) is an American politician and businessman serving as the U.S. Representative for Arizona’s 6th congressional district since 2013. A member of the Republican Party, he first entered Congress in 2011, representing Arizona’s 5th congressional district until redistricting. His district currently includes most of northern Phoenix as well as Scottsdale, Paradise Valley and Cave Creek.

Schweikert previously served two terms in the Arizona State House of Representatives (1991–1994), was chairman of the state Board of Equalization (1995–2004), and was the elected Maricopa County Treasurer (2004–2007). Schweikert ran for the U.S. House of Representatives twice (losing a primary to J. D. Hayworth in 1994 and losing a general election to incumbent Harry Mitchell in 2008) before winning election to the House for the first time in 2010.

In 2018, the United States House Committee on Ethics launched an investigation into Schweikert and his chief of staff, Oliver Schwab, over misuse of funds.[1] On July 30, 2020, Schweikert admitted to 11 violation counts and agreed to an official reprimand by the House as well as a $50,000 fine.[2][3]


More Posts

John F. Kennedy

John Fitzgerald Kennedy (May 29, 1917 – November 22, 1963), often referred to by his initials JFK, was an American politician who served as the

Lyndon B. Johnson

Lyndon Baines Johnson (/ˈlɪndən ˈbeɪnz/; August 27, 1908 – January 22, 1973), often referred to by his initials LBJ, was an American politician who served

Richard Nixon

Richard Milhous Nixon (January 9, 1913 – April 22, 1994) was the 37th president of the United States, serving from 1969 until 1974. A member

Gerald Ford

Gerald Rudolph Ford Jr. (born Leslie Lynch King Jr.; July 14, 1913 – December 26, 2006) was an American politician who served as the 38th